How to Create a GiD Problem Type

Moderator: GiD Team

Chambernan

How to Create a GiD Problem Type

Post by Chambernan »

Hello!

I'm a beginner and I want to use GiD as a preprocessing software to define material properties, boundary conditions, etc.

By consulting the manual, I learned that users need to define their own .mat, .cnd, .prb, .bat, .bas and other files, but I don't know how to follow the format of these files. I would like to know where I can get specific formatting instructions. Grateful!
escolano

Re: How to Create a GiD Problem Type

Post by escolano »

This is explained in the 'GiD customization manual' (do you have a local copy in the GiD help)
https://gidsimulation.atlassian.net/wik ... M/overview

Read the Introduction an Problemtype system chapters
There are two approaches: 'customLib' and 'Classic' (for the classic case consult the Appendix B)

And have a look also to the 'GiD user manual', chapter 'Defining a problem type' with a tutorial example (customLib based)
https://gidsimulation.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GUM

And have a look to the code of the problemtypes of <GiD>/problemtypes/Examples

Note: the web version is for the current developer version, the local copy of your GiD is specific for your GiD version
(the current developer can have some new function that won't exist in older GiD versions)
Chambernan

Post by Chambernan »

Thank you very much for your answer, I found it, thank you!
Chambernan

Post by Chambernan »

Hello! When I'm writing a bas file, I want to implement a function: in "condition", when I check "Displacement" (Fig. 1), the sum of node's X coordinate and X-Value is output.
The content of .cnd is shown in Figure 2.
I tried writing *if (Figure 3), but I found that, regardless of whether "displacement" is checked, cond(5,int) is equal to 1, that is, the content of if is always output. In addition, the output result is shown in Figure 4. The two numbers are not summed.
How can I implement this functionality? thanks~