missing element in the visualization

Moderator: GiD Team

Post Reply
kstn
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:03 pm

missing element in the visualization

Post by kstn »

Hello

In the attached post file, the element 961 is not visible. Although a dumping of the binary file shows that the element and associated nodes are there. I can't figure out the reason. I'm using Gid 12.0.9

Best
Giang
Attachments
snapshot1.png
snapshot1.png (382.76 KiB) Viewed 193 times
Bui_long_3D_0.post.zip
(62.72 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

Re: missing element in the visualization

Post by miguel »

Dear Giang,
thanks for reporting the error. you are right, this is an error in GiD 12.
It has been corrected in version 13 and newer versions:
element961.png
element961.png (113.69 KiB) Viewed 162 times
(Snapshot taken with GiD 13.0.4)

You can find our latest official version here https://downloads.gidsimulation.com/#Gi ... s/win-x64/
If you need an older version of GiD, version 13.0.4 https://downloads.gidsimulation.com/GiD ... nstall.exe also has this error corrected.

Thanks,

The GiDTeam
kstn
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 2:03 pm

Re: missing element in the visualization

Post by kstn »

Hi Miguel

Thanks for your information. Could you please share some more details of the error? And how to avoid them?

Best
Giang
User avatar
miguel
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 9:04 am

Re: missing element in the visualization

Post by miguel »

the error is a gid internal one, related to using that many sets, that has been solved in the following versions.

Using less sets the element is read correctly:
Less-sets-2.post.png
Less-sets-2.post.png (103.38 KiB) Viewed 155 times
Your model for gid 12.0.9 :
Bui_long_3D_0-less-sets-2-post-bin.7z
(42.82 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
i would suggest you to use the latest version 16.0.2: https://downloads.gidsimulation.com/GiD ... nstall.exe
or use the version 13.0.4 which has this error corrected: https://downloads.gidsimulation.com/GiD ... nstall.exe

if you are forced to use GiD 12, then i'll suggest to use less sets.

best regards

the gidteam
Post Reply