Condition over linear elements by using customlib

Moderator: GiD Team

Post Reply
Tatsuya Fujiwara
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 27, 2022 6:30 am

Condition over linear elements by using customlib

Post by Tatsuya Fujiwara »

I am trying to run Maria's example in the following topic.
https://forum.gidsimulation.com/viewtop ... ine#p14164
But I don't have got information on beam condition in the calculation file.

Here is what I have tried.
  • load problem type
  • apply beam condition to a line of the model
  • apply material condition to the model
  • generate mesh
  • create boundary mesh
  • save project
  • run the calculation
All connectivities for linear elements was written in the output file by the following command.

Code: Select all

GiD_WriteCalculationFile all_connectivities -elemtype Linear "id: %d connnectivities: %d %d\n"
But connectivities for the beam elements was not written.

Code: Select all

set condition_name [list "beam"]
set condition_formats [list {"%3d" "element" "id"}  {"%13.5e" "property" "beamV"}]
set formats [customlib::GetElementsFormats $condition_name $condition_formats]
GiD_WriteCalculationFile elements -elemtype Linear $formats
I attached the problem type files and the output.
(I don't care the calculation result. I just want to know how to write information on linear elements)
Any comments are welcome.
Attachments
cmas2d_customlib2c_test.gid.zip
Problem type files and project files
(398.68 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
User avatar
escolano
Posts: 1918
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 1982 10:51 pm

Re: Condition over linear elements by using customlib

Post by escolano »

The problem is that after generate the mesh you have manually used
"create boundary mesh"
and this tool create the line elements boundary of the triangles, but don't apply the condition and group 'Beam' over them (and then are not listed in your image "03-ListBeamGroups.PNG")

To have the line elements of a line that belong to surfaces you must assign:
Mesh->Mesh criteria->Mesh->Lines, and select the desired lines
and then generate the mesh. The generated line elements will inherit the groups, etc. from the geometrical source lines.

Note: in general, in case of troubles, attach also the full GiD model instead of some screen captures, this provide us more information, like your exact GiD version and allow test it.
Tatsuya Fujiwara
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 27, 2022 6:30 am

Re: Condition over linear elements by using customlib

Post by Tatsuya Fujiwara »

Thank you very much for your quick answer.
The problem has been solved.

Thanks.
Post Reply